Home / Spotlight / Brick Awards
Special Prize Winner: San Bernardo Chapel, Argentina - Category: Sharing public spaces

Brick Awards

The Wienerberger Brick Award sets the stage for recognizing exceptional buildings where clay building materials have played a prominent role. Submissions to this award are now open.

Special Prize Winner: San Bernardo Chapel, Argentina – Category: Sharing public spaces

For more than one decade now, Wienerberger AG has been hosting the international “Wienerberger Brick Award” every two years, providing a stage for excellent brick architecture and its architects.

Wienerberger initiated the Brick Award for the first time in 2004 in order to put this natural building material into the spotlight, demonstrating how exciting, exceptional and modern architecture using brick can be.

Although Wienerberger is the host of the award, it is an independent award and the use of Wienerberger products is no decisive factor for participation.

Brick Award 2018: Category Winner Working Together: Terra Cotta Studio, Vietnam

Over the last years, projects have been submitted from all over the world and nominations as well as winners have been chosen using a wide range of manufacturers and brick types in all colours and shapes.

The submission period for the Brick Award 2020 has already started. Architects, international architecture critics, and journalists can submit projects between January 7th and April 9th 2019.

The 50 nominated projects will be revealed on their website and the winners will be communicated at the prestigious Brick Award ceremony at the end of May 2020.

An important criterion for the submission is that a significant part of the project must consist of clay building materials and it must be a current project, which has been completed in 2016 or later.

The award comprises of different categories that are subject to slight change depending on the year and the development of trends and current topics. For the Brick Award 2020 the following categories will be awarded: Feeling at Home, Living Together, Working Together, Sharing Public Spaces and Building Outside the Box.

Assessment criteria include innovative design and architecture concept, skillful and innovative use of bricks as well as architecture quality in terms of aesthetics, shape and configuration of the project.

Special attention is also directed to the adequacy of the project in relation to its intended purpose, building type and cultural context, as well as to sustainability and energy efficiency aspects.

The winners of the Wienerberger Brick Award are announced biennially at an award ceremony and presented, along with the 50 nominations in the accompanying ‘Brick’ book. Winning projects are endowed with prize money and can be found all over the world.

The top 50 projects and the prize-winning buildings of the Wienerberger Brick Award are presented in the accompanying, elaborately designed architecture book called BRICK. The book gives people with an interest in architecture as well as experts an overview on current developments and trends in international brick architecture with its remarkable range of applications.



Check Also

Resin Art

Known for both its experimental nature and ethereal aesthetic, resin is fast gaining attention from …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.