Home / Spotlight / Grafton Architects Win Architecture’s Highest Honor
Universita Luigi Bocconi, 2008, Milan, Italy

Grafton Architects Win Architecture’s Highest Honor

Yvonne Farrell and Shelley McNamara of Dublin, Ireland, have been selected as the 2020 Pritzker Prize Laureates.

Universita Luigi Bocconi, 2008, Milan, Italy

As architects and educators since the 1970s, Farrell and McNamara create spaces that are at once respectful and new, honoring history while demonstrating a mastery of the urban environment and craft of construction Balancing strength and delicacy, and upholding a reverence of site- specific contexts, their academic, civic and cultural institutions, as well as housing developments, result in modern and impactful works that never repeat or imitate, but are decidedly of their own architectural voice.

Yvonne Farrell and Shelley McNamara

“Architecture could be described as one of the most complex and important cultural activities on the planet,” remarks Farrell “To be an architect is an enormous privilege To win this prize is a wonderful endorsement of our belief in architecture Thank you for this great honor. ”

Loreto Community School, 2006, Milford, Ireland

“Within the ethos of a practice such as ours, we have so often struggled to find space for the implementation of such values as humanism, craft, generosity, and cultural connection with each place and context within which we work It is therefore extremely gratifying that this recognition is bestowed upon us and our practice and upon the body of work we have managed to produce over a long number of years,” says McNamara “It is also a wonderful recognition of the ambition and vision of the clients who commissioned us and enabled us to bring our buildings to fruition.”

Town House Building,Kingston University, 2019, Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom

“For their integrity in their approach to both their buildings, as well as the way they conduct their practice, their belief in collaboration, their generosity towards their colleagues, especially as evidenced in such events as the 2018 Venice Biennale, their unceasing commitment to excellence in architecture, their responsible attitude toward the environment, their ability to be cosmopolitan while embracing the uniqueness of each place in which they work, for all these reasons and more, Yvonne Farrell and Shelley McNamara are awarded the 2020 Pritzker Architecture Prize,” states the 2020 Jury Citation.

Université Toulouse 1 Capitole School of Economics, 2019, Toulouse, France

“The collaboration between Yvonne Farrell and Shelley McNamara represents a veritable interconnectedness between equal counterparts,” states Pritzker “They demonstrate incredible strength in their architecture, show deep relation to the local situation in all regards, establish different responses to each commission while maintaining the honesty of their work, and exceed the requirements of the field through responsibility and community ”.

London School of Economics and Political Science, Under Construction, London, United Kingdom

McNamara states, “Architecture is a framework for human life It anchors us and connects us to the world in a way which possibly no other space-making discipline can ” Farrell continues, “At the core of our practice is a real belief that architecture matters It is a cultural spatial phenomenon that people invent ”.

Universita Luigi Bocconi, 2008, Milan, Italy

The pair established Grafton Architects in 1978 in Dublin, where they continue to practice and reside In just over forty years, they have completed nearly as many projects, located in Ireland, the United Kingdom, France, Italy and Peru.

Urban Institute of Ireland, 2002, Dublin, Ireland

Farrell and McNamara are the 47th and 48th Laureates of the Pritzker Prize, and the first two recipients from Ireland. The Pritzker Architecture Prize was founded in 1979 by the late Jay A Pritzker and his wife, Cindy Its purpose is to honor annually a living architect or architects whose built work demonstrates a combination of those qualities of talent, vision and commitment, which has produced consistent and significant contributions to humanity and the built environment through the art of architecture.

Eunice Kim
Director of Communications
The Pritzker Architecture Prize
Tel: +1 240 401 5649
email: eunicekim@pritzkerprize com


Check Also

The Harbinger of Fresh Design

Maison et Objet Paris announces Franklin Azzi as the designer of the year, signaling an …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.